By: Mallards Communications Staff

The Mallards will re-ignite division rivalries with the Cincinnati Cyclones and Kansas City Mavericks in 2017-18. The ECHL announced today both the Cyclones and the Mavericks have joined the Mallards in the Central Division for the coming campaign.

The Mallards and Cyclones both competed in the ECHL's Midwest Division in 2015-16 before the Mallards moved to the Central Division last season while the Cyclones shifted to the South.

The Mallards and Mavericks find themselves in the same division for the first time since their first season in the ECHL- 2014-15. The Mavs move to the Central Division after spending last year in the Mountain Division.

To make room for Cincinnati and Kansas City, the Tulsa Oilers and Wichita Thunder have been transplanted from the Central to the Mountain Division.

The Mallards will play nine games against the Cyclones and six against the Mavericks. The Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Kalamazoo Wings and Toledo Walleye fill out the seven-team Central Division. The first two rounds of the Kelly Cup Playoffs will once again be played entirely within the division, with the division winner playing the fourth-place finisher and the second-place team meeting the third-place team in the Division Semifinals. The winners of each series will meet in the Division Finals, leading to the Conference Finals and Kelly Cup Finals.

Site Map