By: Mallards Communications Staff

The Quad City Mallards have set their roster for the Central Hockey League President’s Cup playoffs, the Mallards announced today. 
In addition to the nineteen players on the roster proper, the Mallards have added rookie forward Joe Perry to fill one of two slots available for amateur players joining CHL clubs for the playoffs.  Goaltender Ty Rimmer and Mike Hellyer have returned to the roster for the playoffs.  A spot is available for forward Jim McKenzie though he has been with the American Hockey League's Iowa Wild since January after starting the season with the Mallards. Forward Gabriel Levesque has been placed on 14-day injured reserve and forward Jordan Lane and goaltender Eric Levine have been left off the postseason roster.   
Levesque suffered a lower body injury yesterday during the Mallards’ regular season-ending 5-3 win over the Missouri Mavericks.  Levine was signed last week when Rimmer was called up by Oklahoma City, and served as the Mallards’ backup netminder in four games.  Lane picked up one assist and collected 88 penalty minutes in 56 regular season games.
Perry, 24, joins the Mallards after earlier this month leading Division III powerhouse St. Norbert College to its third national title in his four years as a Green Knight.  The 6’ 2”, 215-pound Nanaimo, British Columbia, native was named to the America Hockey Coaches Association Division III All-American first team after finishing the season tied for first in the nation with 24 goals and totaling 37 points in 32 games.  Perry earned NCAA tournament Most Valuable Player honors after scoring five goals and adding two assists in three tournament games.  He scored 50 times and recorded 106 points in 115 career collegiate games. 
In full, the active playoff roster is comprised of forwards Hellyer, McKenzie, Matt Boyd, Justin Fox, Thomas Frazee, Jeff Lee, Jordan Mayer, Gergo Nagy, Vladimir Nikiforov and Mike Stinziani; defensemen Benjamin Dieude-Fauvel, Matt Duffy, Darren McMillan, Mike Monfredo, Nicholas Rioux and Tyler Yaworski; forward/defenseman Nick Grasso; goaltenders Rimmer and Thomas Heemskerk; and amateur forward Perry. 
The Mallards head to Rapid City Friday and Saturday for games one and two of their best-of-seven opening round series against the Rush.  The Mallards return home for game three on Wednesday, April 9 at 7:05 p.m. and game four on Friday, April 11 at 7:05 p.m.  If a fifth game is necessary, it will be played on Saturday night April 12 at 7:05 p.m. at the iWireless Center.  Should a sixth game be required, the series will shift back to Rapid City on Tuesday, April 15.  If the series goes to a seventh game, the Rush would host the deciding contest on Wednesday, April 16.
Tickets for Mallards home playoff games can be purchased in person at the iWireless Center box office, online at, at Ticketmaster outlets or through Ticketmaster charge-by-phone toll free at 1-800-745-3000.  The ticket office is open weekdays from 10:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., on Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and on game days from 10:00 a.m. until the start of the second period. 

Site Map